P&P Wizard-Thief: Session 0

Background

Disappointed by the chase-y nature of my last Pits and Perils campaign, I have decided to start a new solo-PC adventure to compliment my ongoing Ruins of the Undercity Labyrinth Lord game. Playing the solo dungeon in my Undercity campaign has showed me that I really do enjoy at least a bit of that style of adventuring gameplay, so I aim to integrate both surface/city roleplaying and dungeoneering segments in nearly equal part in this campaign.

I’ll be using a combination of Mythic, Pits and Perils, and a dungeon generator like Ruins of the Undercity of Schweig’s Themed Dungeon Generator to create adventure locations.

System/Oracle

I’ll be using Mythic GME (primarily Variations II’s fate rules) and the Game Master’s Apprentice keywords for my oracle for this game, with the chaos level set at a constant 4 for events/exceptional results.

I’ll use my house rule that a result within 1 of success/failure (a 10/11) will be a yes/no, but…, while an exceptional result will EITHER be a yes/no, and… or an amplification of the degree of success/failure, depending on circumstance.

Character Creation

Stats

Unlike my last game, I will be creating a magic-user character this time to allow myself more game options and varieties of encounters. I’ll roll these at random and try to create the most interesting, non-stereotypical magician I can from the results.

Ability: Dexterity
Background: Performer (can earn free lodging)

These are promising rolls for the character type that I want to play. I was hoping for a character with the ability to survive on his/her own, and having a dexterous performer with a knack for magic seems like the perfect combination–basically a bard, given Pits and Perils’ system where all non-fighters have the same combat ability.

Starting Equipment

We roll 1d6 for starting gold, and I rolled a 1. My hero is obviously on the run, dirt poor except for the clothes on her back and a handful of tools that she’ll hopefully be able to put to use.

I purchase a second dagger (for throwing), flint, torch, 10′ pole, and waterskin for a total of 8 gp, leaving her with 2 coins. She’s lucky she can earn her keep with her skills, although I doubt she wants to be drawing too much attention to herself if she’s on the run.

Inventory (8): bedroll, rations (7), dagger (2), flint, torch (1), waterskin, 10′ pole.

Purse: 2 gold pieces

Spells

Picking spells is one of the keys to creating an interesting character concept in Pits and Perils. Since I’m creating a bard-style performer/thief, I’m going to eschew traditional spell choices like MEND or BOLT or a powerhouse like FEAR in favor of utility spells that a scrappy trickster might use (even if I think it may make her less mechanically powerful).

Since my character is clearly on the run, I suspect that her skills tend toward the subtle. As such, she’ll start with the following three spells:

HIDE: Become invisible, granting enemies -3 when attacking (if they even know where she is).

SONG: This is a custom spell that I first read about on PurpleBroccoli’s blog or on G+. It is a basic buff spell, giving all allies within hearing range +1 to hit and to saving throws for as long as Alandra is focusing solely on singing. It can also be used to improve reaction rolls in her favor when used as a bard.

LINK: My trickster can read the mind of a target. I’ll use this to get bonuses to social interactions, bonuses to bluff or read checks, reductions to odds of being tricked, etc.

I considered MUTE, but I suspect my dexterous trickster will be more likely to sneak than use magic for that. These spells are going to heavily favor city thievery style adventures, I suspect, although I’m hoping that I can create some dungeon crawl type antics as well. I may be underpowered for that, but these spells may be enough to escape when I need to. I’m just wondering if they’re going to be TOO overpowered for a level one character and end up being not fun to play.

Side

I can’t imagine not picking neutral now. She’s clearly a trickster, perhaps with a heart of gold but with no qualms about a little mischievousness to meet her aims.

Character Sheet

Name: Alandra, Neutral Magician
Level: 1 (0/250 exp)
HP: 5/5 | SP: 2/2
Ability: Dexterity
Background: Performer
Weapon: Daggers | Armor: None (MV 50′)
Purse: 2 gp
Inventory (8): bedroll, rations (7), dagger (2), flint, torch (1), waterskin, 10′ pole
Spells: Hide, Link, Song

Condensed character sheet:

Alandra, Magician 1 (0/250 xp); HP 5/5; SP 2/2; Dexterity/Performer; Atk +0 (Daggers); MV 50′; Purse: 2 gp; Inventory (8): bedroll, rations (7), dagger (2), flint, torch (1), waterskin, 10′ pole; Spells: Hide, Link, Song

Character Background

Alandra grew up an orphan in the City of Spires. After years on the street as a pickpocket and beggar of fair skill but incredible luck, she was eventually taken in as a shopgirl by a local tavernkeeper, where she proved to be quite the draw. Her singing regularly filled the house, and eventually she drew the attention of one of the local houses of magic. A sorcerer there grew convinced that she was an unknown Power, and he began to pursue her.

Caring little for the great houses, Alandra ran, pursued now by a force determined to harness her strength and put it to use–or prevent the other houses from doing the same.

Personal Thread: Evade the control of the Great Houses

NPCs: Tarek, Sorcerer of the House of the Silver Star

One thought on “P&P Wizard-Thief: Session 0

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.