Home > All, Misc. > My One Page Dungeon Entry

My One Page Dungeon Entry

Hey all,

Here is my entry into the 2010 One Page Dungeon contest. It’s titled, “The House of Lost and Found” and is designed to be a map characters can find in a Lovecraftian horror game. If you haven’t heard of or entered the contest yet, there’s still time: until the end of the week, in fact. Get out there and start creating!

Looking forward to seeing your posts!

One Page Dungeon The House of Lost and Found

My entry. Click the link to download the 2.3 mb pdf that is the entry!

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you like it!

EDIT: If you have a One-Pager of your own, please post a link to it in the comments section. It’ll be easier for folks to navigate betwixt all the entries that way!

Categories: All, Misc. Tags: ,
  1. February 24, 2010 at 1:39 am

    I like the font for this. What did you use to make your map?

  2. February 24, 2010 at 6:38 am

    Hey June,

    The fonts are Hand Test (for the finer writing inside the squares) and Note Hand or something like that for the rest of it. I made the map in GIMP (using photoshop briefly to add the bled-ink texture to the map portion).

    Thanks for looking,
    Brenton

  3. February 24, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Nice! I love the way it looks, and the flavor text you used is very evocative. I would not worry too much about the format. Like the contest rules state, the concept of a one page dungeon means different things to different people. I particularly like this entry because it can be used with several genres and games. Well done! Good luck with the contest!

    • February 24, 2010 at 7:27 am

      Thanks! I appreciate the comments. By the way, I’ve got work but I’ll be posting my GIMP items later tonight.

  4. mikemonaco
    February 25, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Very nice, and bonus points for not using the OPD template.

    • February 25, 2010 at 6:19 pm

      Thanks Mike! Good to hear from you.

  5. February 27, 2010 at 5:12 am

    Very nicely done!

    • February 27, 2010 at 7:52 am

      Thanks; yours is too. I love your artwork!

  6. chopnstyx
    February 28, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Wow, I like your entry. Very Lovecraftian indeed & it makes me want to try playing a game like that or run a game with your dungeon.

    I particularly like the border around the map, did you draw it in yourself?

    • March 1, 2010 at 7:16 am

      Thanks a lot, chopnstyx!

      No, I didn’t draw it; the border/page background was part of a group of free photoshop elements I found online a while ago. You can google “photoshop paper” or something similar to find them, but I don’t remember the site exactly.

  7. March 14, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    I like it! You have really managed to mix in a (Lovecraftian) short story with the map, great idea. I especially like the fact that the main villain/big monster/scary-stuff-behind-the-curtain isn’t written out – it’s really up to the referee. Good work!

    My one-page dungeon can be found here: http://rustfoot.blogspot.com/p/one-page-dungeon-contest-2010.html

    • March 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm

      Thanks, I appreciate the comment! I’ll add your entry to my list!

  8. April 1, 2010 at 12:42 am

    Do you happen to have this map text-free? I was thinking of using it in a play-by-forum Mafia game, and the actual room names I want to keep secret until they reach it during each Day Phase.

    • April 1, 2010 at 7:48 am

      Sure, I can find it. Do you want it on the paper background, or just the straight map?

  9. April 1, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    The paper background would be awesome!

    • April 2, 2010 at 11:00 pm

      I ended up using GIMP to cut the map into smaller pieces, and also take out the text.

  10. April 15, 2010 at 9:37 am

    So I ended up using the map in this Mafia game:

    http://www.forumopolis.com/showthread.php?t=95484

    Thanks for the inspiration and the use of your map!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

